Watching the USA from the Bus Window (Travel Theme: Transport)

Grand Teton National Park, Wyoming

Grand Teton National Park, Wyoming; © Cloudy_Wings

I’ve travelled a lot on my own, usually sticking to city trips where I could easily get around on public transport. Not wanting to go to remote areas by myself, but still wanting to see more of the countries I visited, I came to love guided bus tours. This way I got out of the city, met some nice people and learned a few things along the way, without having to worry about organizing the trip.

Whenever it seemed feasible, I tried to spice up my solo adventures with a few group journeys. Of course, while staying in the USA, a bus trip seemed the best option to visit all the national parks I had in mind. So I did day trips from whatever city I was staying at (e.g. Yosemite from San Francisco) and longer round trips joining a travel group. One of those brought me to Grand Teton National Park and Yellowstone and all the way to Mount Rushmore before returning to Salt Lake City. Another took me from San Francisco along the coast to Joshua Tree National Park and then on to the Grand Canyon, through Arches National Park, Bryce Canyon and Zion to Las Vegas.

I was covering quite some distance on board of buses, soaking up all the views passing by the window. And while we made plenty of photo stops along the way, I still felt the need to take a few shots out of the bus window to capture some of the beauty I was seeing. Always knowing that these snapshots with a blurry foreground and window reflections disturbing the view could never match the real thing. So mostly, I just relaxed and enjoyed watching the landscape glide by. When you go on a bus tour in the USA, there’s plenty of time for that.

For more on Travel Theme: Transport visit “Where’s my backpack?”

One thought on “Watching the USA from the Bus Window (Travel Theme: Transport)

Leave a Reply

