Bunker Hill Monument (Travel Theme: History)

Bunker Hill Monument, Boston

Bunker Hill Monument, Boston; © Cloudy_Wings

In my post about the Independence Hall in Philadelphia I mentioned how excited I was to be there, shortly after I finished my degree in American History. The same was true for Boston. Many of the events leading up to the American Revolution took place there. Accordingly, I was looking forward to visiting some of the original locales. The best way to do this if you visit Boston for the first time is to follow the Freedom Trail: A line of red bricks starting at the Boston Common and leading the way through the city past historic locations like the Massachusetts State House, the Old Corner Bookstore, the Old State House and Faneuil Hall, ending at the Bunker Hill Monument.

Along the way you’ll learn about the Sons of Liberty, the Boston Massacre, the Boston Tea Party, Paul Revere’s Midnight Ride and the Battle of Bunker Hill. In various cemeteries you’ll also find lots of names you may have read about in your history book. For me, the Boston Freedom Trail made my textbooks come alive.

For more on Travel Theme: History, visit “Where’s my backpack?”

One thought on “Bunker Hill Monument (Travel Theme: History)

Leave a Reply

