Overview: Postcards in July 2015


July started with little mail due to a postal strike that had been going for most of June and finally ended in the first week of July. After that, things picked up a bit with some delayed cards arriving. In mid-July I arranged some great swaps, some of which arrived very quickly, making July a very successful month.

In addition to that, the card I sent to myself from Luxembourg in June finally arrived. I had started to wonder about it, but initially put the delay down to the postal strike. However, as it turns out, the card had a really rough journey: It was obviously eaten alive by a sorting machine and had to be delivered in a “body bag”. One part of the message was torn off. But I guess I was lucky that the address part remained intact. This way, at least, I received the card and don’t have to keep wondering where it might have gone astray.

Damaged postcard from Luxembourg

This card from Luxembourg got damaged on its journey.

In all, I received 19 cards in July from:

  • Denmark
  • Italy
  • Luxembourg
  • New Zealand (9)
  • Romania (3)
  • Russia
  • Spain
  • USA (2)

After the new UNESCO sites for 2015 were announced earlier in July, I started to look through some of my older cards. And sure enough, in the first pile I checked I already found some cards of the new sites. I should probably sort through all of my cards at some point.

If my count is still correct, I now have 426 UNESCO sites in my collection, thanks to these 17 cards I received (or found) in July:

  • San Agustín Archaeological Park (Colombia)
  • Christiansfeld, a Moravian Church Settlement (Denmark)
  • Speicherstadt and Kontorhaus District with Chilehaus (Germany)
  • Antigua Guatemala (Guatemala)
  • Tikal National Park (Guatemala)
  • Maya Site of Copan (Honduras)
  • Persepolis (Iran)
  • Longobards in Italy. Places of the Power (568-774 A.D.) (Italy)
  • Mount Etna (Italy)
  • Arab-Norman Palermo and the Cathedral Churches of Cefalú and Monreale (Italy)
  • Quseir Amra (Jordan)
  • Byblos (Lebanon)
  • Historic Sanctuary of Machu Picchu (Peru)
  • Lines and Geoglyphs of Nasca and Pampas de Jumana (Peru)
  • Churches of Moldavia (Romania)
  • Villages with Fortified Churches in Transylvania (Romania)
  • San Antonio Missions (USA)
Leave a Reply

