Green Fields of Ireland (Travel Theme: Grasses)

Aran Islands, Ireland

Aran Islands, Ireland © Cloudy_Wings

In a recent post I noted how much I connect travel memories with certain trees I have seen in a place. I can’t really say the same for grasses. I don’t think I’ve ever particularly noticed a special type of grass anywhere I travelled. However, thinking about this for a moment, there is one place I definitely connect with grass. Maybe not by distinguishing special types of grass that only grow there (though I’m sure there would be some), but just by the fact that I connect this place with lush green meadows. And what else would they be made of but grass.

This place is, of course, Ireland, also know as the Emerald Isle – for obvious reasons. The picture above is from Inishmore, the largest of the Aran Islands off the coast of Ireland. And as you can see, it is very green and grassy. It is ten years now since I’ve been there and it is still one of my favourite places. I very much hope to go back there very soon.

For more on Travel Theme: Grasses visit “Where’s my backpack?”

One thought on “Green Fields of Ireland (Travel Theme: Grasses)

Leave a Reply

